10 Days

Ten days in the hospital, minus a brief 12 hour period when I was discharged and had to rush back in the worst pain of my life.
I got a bad head cold, it seemed that’s all it was and then on Tuesday night (March 2nd) just after dinner I suddenly got the chills, really bad. I couldn’t stop shaking. I went to bed and ended up moaning and tossing and turning for the entire night, keeping the Hubby up. It was horrible and I had the weirdest dreams only now looking back I realize that they weren’t dreams, they were hallucinations or delusions, whatever they’re called.

I spent the entire day Wednesday lying on the sofa and being very out of it. The decision to go to the doctor was left to me, and in my whacked out state I chose not to go. I didn’t think that in my weakened condition that I could make it to the walk-in clininc and back, even though it’s only 6 blocks away. My Mom offered to take me, but in my messed up brain all I could think was that I wanted my Hubby there with me, plus I don’t trust that clinic when it’s something really severe and deep down I knew that this was severe.

Later that night when the Hubby came home from work I remember him getting fed up with me because I was still being whacked out and dragging my feet about the doctor. I went upstairs to the bathroom and got very lightheaded and the room started spinning and I remember thinking to myself that I should go lie down on the bed, only I didn’t make it.

Hubby heard a loud crash come from upstairs and when he checked on me, he found me sprawled out on the floor, totally unconscious and even when I did come to I was out of it, and unable to tell him what was going on. I was just really confused.

From that point on I don’t remember much of anything, only snippets frozen in time. I remember lying on the bed, I remember rushing to the bathroom and vomitting up blood. I remember finally telling Hubby to take me to the hospital. The doctors and nurses fussing over me, trying to get a blood pressure which they weren’t able to. They could barely find my pulse, it was very weak. I remember the doctors ordering me to open my eyes, and me struggling to follow their orders.

I was admitted to the hospital for hypotension, extreme low blood pressure. Admitted for pneumonia, sepsis, severely low potassium and iron. I was in the hospital for 6 days, and I honestly don’t remember a lot of it. I remember that even after I was admitted my blood pressure was so low that the doctors and nurses were still having a hard time taking, at least until after the third or fourth day that I was there.

I came home Monday afternoon, it was about 2:30. I came home and did some laundry, swept the floor and washed some dishes, I didn’t do it all at once. I spread out the work over Monday afternoon and Tuesday.
Tuesday night I woke up at 2:30 in the morning with so much pain I could barely breath. Every breath, every cough felt like a knife was stabbing into me.
We rushed back to the hospital and I found out that a layer of muscle that surrounds my lung has become infected or irritated. I was admitted back to the hospital for another four days.
I’m so much medication that I can barely keep track of what’s supposed to be taken when, but I’m keeping track of it. Before I was sent home I was lectured by two doctors about getting complete bed rest. No housework, no laundry, nothing!
I have to tell you, complete bed rest sucks. I see stuff that needs to be done and I want to jump up and get it done, and yet there are those doctors voices in my head and the fear of me having to go back to the hospital yet again, so I ignore what needs to get done and lay my head down and rest.

I’ve read, I’ve watched movies, television and I’ve even knitted when my energy levels are up, but really I’m just going stir crazy and need to find something to do that will break up the monotony of lying in bed or on the sofa all the time.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in health. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 10 Days

  1. Jenn says:

    >That's so scary! I'm glad you're okay and I know that bed rest can be boring but it's better than getting sick again! I'm thinking of you. xoxo

Share Your Thoughts

