Decision Made

For about two years or so now, Hubby and I have been discussing moving to British Columbia, I’m not sure if I’ve written about this before but we have sound reasons for entertaining this idea.
We started to entertain the idea because of The Son and the fact that winters here in Ontario are bitches for him.  He’s basically housebound from October to May.  He has no body fat on him and therefore can’t tolerate the cold temperatures, not to mention he’s wheelchair bound and that means that he doesn’t have movement to keep his blood pumping and keep him warm.

I have family out there, my aunt, her daughter and my grandmother and my kids either haven’t met them or don’t remember in the case of my grandmother whose last visit here to Toronto was when the Daughter was one and The Boy was three.  The son wasn’t even born.  I haven’t seen my aunt and cousin since I was fourteen, many many many moons ago!

But today Hubby and I sat down and started to discuss different reasons for not leaving at the end of the school year next year, the main one being the Daughter.
She’s going to be going to a very special school next year.  An all girls school where the girls that attend are either dealing with mental or physical disabilities or limitations (learning disabilities and ADD in the Daughters case) and they are also dealing with emotional distress as well (in the Daughter’s case severe bullying in grade 3 has stolen her confidence, her sense of pride and has made it so that she puts a wall up and repels people instead of befriending them because she doesn’t want to give them a chance to hurt her.  She doesn’t trust people and every time the Hubby and I get upset with her she flinches like we’re going to beat her, something we’ve never done but because she was hit, kicked and who knows what else when she was in grade 3 she reacts like an abused child when you do no more than raise your voice a bit.  Very sad.
So my problem is, if we send her to this school that is specialized in helping kids like the Daughter, how can we expect her to have a year to settle in and then yank her out and drag her to the other side of the country and hope that they’ll have something similar in BC for her.  I doubt it and that’s not fair.
The Boy would be leaving after having been in high school for 2 years and he’ll have to leave behind all his friends and the teachers that he’s gotten to know.

We also don’t know if there will be any kind of respite care out in BC like we have access to here in Toronto and we’re just starting to make use of this program.
Yes, I would like very much to move to BC still, but when I look at these items and other ones that I don’t want to go into, I wonder if it’s really the right thing to do for my family and then I stomp my foot on the floor and curse myself for acting like a grown up and being so responsible because Dammit, I want to move out there!

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in family, home, on my mind, respite, school. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

