Lesson Learned, Thanks to Destruction

I’ve learned my lesson, well actually throughout my life I’ve learned many lessons, like to always cross the street at the designated area, to always change the toilet paper roll when it gets emptied and never leave the house without clean underwear.
But last week I learned something new, never go into my son’s room with the intentions of putting the just washed bedding back on their beds because that’s not what I’ll end up doing.
Sure everything was going smoothly, I’d washed, fluffed and folded the matching minty blue sheet sets and had carried them up to the boys room with the intent of putting them onto their mattresses, but I was thwarted when I realized I had to pull their bunk bed away from the wall to accomplish it.  Simple enough, or so I thought!
I yanked on the wooden frame, trying to move that monstrous sucker even a millimeter away from the wall and was rewarded by the sound of glass smashing into a hundred million little jagged, microscopic pieces.

The Son’s Electric Globe Thingy fell behind his dresser and the very thin glass was now in shattered little bits all over the place.
Other lesser Moms might shrug and decide to leave it to their children to clean up, after all wasn’t it because of their booby trapping negligence that the globe was now just a little base with a Brillo Pad on top of a post?

But you see, I’m not a lesser Mom, I am a Wonder Mom in training and thus I had to pull out not only the bunk bed but The Son’s tallboy dresser as well.  I had to pick up a million articles of clothing and even more crap that had been stashed there, out of sight, and it took me the entire day to get it done.   But it had to be done because all that glass needed to get cleaned up.

Some may ask, why didn’t I leave it for The Boy to clean up when he got home.  Simple answer is: I wanted to get it done in less than a day, and I wanted it to be done right.
Is that a cop-out?  Perhaps, but I don’t care. Sometimes you just have to accept that the job is too big to be left to those who do half-hearted jobs.
About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in home, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lesson Learned, Thanks to Destruction

  1. bluesleepy says:

    >I would have done the same. First off, I would have felt badly because it was my actions that caused the glass to break, and secondly, I would have a hard time letting my kids (any age) clean up glass because what if they didn't get it all?? As it was, I thought my husband and I had done a good job of cleaning up the mess when a shelf fell off the wall in our office, yet today my elder daughter cut the bottom of her foot on a piece of broken glass. I didn't even know there was any glass to be broken! Yikes.

Share Your Thoughts

