Flowers in the Summer and Fires in the Fall

It’s October again, this means that my brain starts on it’s annual flights of fancy.
I start to think about the beautiful colours that accompany the changing of the leaves each autumn.  It’s such a short span of time and yet it’s one of my most favorite, second only to Christmas for magic and beauty and bringing a sense of wonderment to my jaded, cynical self.
Each day I stare at the trees around my house and note how the green leaves are subtly changing their hue and then one day I look out the window and BAM, I’m surrounded by a world of golds and reds.  The only thing that I hate about this time of year is that it’s so fleeting and followed by the cold dead winter.

Then there is the fact that I live in Canada, so of course that means that I’m thinking about turkey and stuffing, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, apple pie, pumpkin pie and all other things that go along with Thanksgiving dinner, because Canada’s Thanksgiving is on Monday.
I can hardly wait for Thanksgiving, my tummy gets all rumbly and excited whenever I stop to think about all the good eating that shall be done on that day.  Of course my family will be doing our epic turkey dinner on Sunday, so that way we can sit back and relax and enjoy the left overs and our Monday and not have everyone go back to school and work with that bloated, heavy feeling that you get the day after you gorge yourself on turkey and the trimmings.

Then of course there is the other happening of October, the NaNoWriMo sign up leading up to the 30 days in November of epic writing.  I got the email the other day reminding me to sign up for this years event and out of a knee jerk reaction I found myself going to the website and about to sign up, when it suddenly dawned on me that after Thanksgiving I shall be ripping the drywall down and redoing my entire bedroom, which will probably mean that come November I shall be just a tad busy.
On top of Devlin’s Birthday and all the Christmas Prep that goes along with November, I just don’t see how I’ll find the time to sit in front of a computer and participate in this challenge.  Even though it is a goal in my life to actually participate and finish it, perhaps next year.

What I am thinking of taking part in come November is NaBloPoMo, I figure with me ripping down drywall, attempting to repair a leaky wall in the basement and who knows what else will come up during the repairs, and you know something else will come up because it always does, I’ll probably have some pretty good blog worthy stuff to write about.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in holidays, home. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

