Some Kind of an Idiot

I am a huge idiot.
For the past few years I have hated my hair, I’ve had to fight with it constantly to get it to look anything close to presentable, and I’ve never been happy with it.
Then, back in June I had my hair cut and my girl realized that my hair wasn’t just damaged (as we’d always presumed).  She told me that my hair had suddenly gone curly and she cut my hair so that my curls sprung out, she showed me how to style curly hair and she gave me lovely bangs, the bane of my existence normally because they never hung right.  My bangs are crooked because of cowlicks, and I’ve fought against that my entire life.
But my girl cut my bangs so that they were light and not very thick and they hung in a way so that I never had to really fight with those cowlicks.
For the first time since I could remember I loved my hair, truly loved my hair.

So why then, for the love of all things holy would I even think of going some place else?
Because I’m lazy and my old place is blocks away and the new place is just at the bottom of my street and I’ve taken Ceilidh there before and they did a nice job.
But now I’m regretting that in a very serious, Sinead O’Connor frame of mine.  Yup, I hate my hair so much that I’m thinking I’d look better bald than walk around with this horrendous mop on the top of my head that I’m going to have to battle constantly again.

This new girl gave me bangs, horrendous, too short, way to heavy and thick bangs.  There is no way I can ever make them look good.  She razor cut my hair so now my curls, well there just aren’t any there to hang nicely so now it just looks messy, not pretty.
She also insulted me and said that she gave me heavy bangs ‘to cover my baldness’ which is her referring to my cowlicks.  Bitch!  I’m not bald!  I’ve got nice thick hair, that is until you thinned it out and made it so there’s nothing there.
She straightened the shit out of my hair and when I said stop she said ‘straight hair is better than curly’.
Um, if I love my curly than don’t I have the right to have it.  She cut it so that curls can’t happen and I don’t have the time to sit around and fight with my hair to get it to look anywhere close to not disgusting.
I got up this morning and one side of my bangs are standing straight up.  Damn Cowlicks!
Now I have to dig out my straightening iron, something I haven’t had to touch since July, and figure out how to battle this hateful thing on the top of my head.
Seriously, when I think about my hair and how long it’s going to take before I can even go back to my girl and get her to fix it, well I really do start to cry.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in Me. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some Kind of an Idiot

  1. bluesleepy says:

    >Actually, I would go back to your normal girl sooner rather than later. If she's skilled in cutting curly hair, then she'll be able to shape your new cut into something a bit more manageable. She won't be able to fix the bangs issue, of course, but the rest of it could probably have something done about it.Aside from the fact that the second girl gave you a shitty haircut, she also insulted you — and that's so not cool. If you don't want your hair straightened, then she should have listened to you. And saying straight hair is better than curly is ridiculous (says the girl who permed her hair for several years because I have always wanted curls). If I were you, I would write a letter of complaint to the salon, or even to the main office if it's a chain-type place. At minimum they should give you your money back because you're dissatisfied with your cut. I've never had a truly bad cut, mainly because I have stick straight hair and I've never been able to style it properly. But I had a stylist when I first moved here that started off doing a great job, then she slowly tapered off and wouldn't cut my hair worth shit. And she wouldn't talk to me AT ALL when I was in her chair. She would talk to everyone else but ignore me. I was very uncomfortable. I managed to switch stylists in the same salon (the first stylist actually owns the place), which made things awkward, but hey, I must have big balls or something. ;o) Now I love my new stylist, and I wish I didn't have to leave her behind when I move. Good luck, friend! *Hugs*

  2. melissa says:

    >I can`t tell you how many times I have had my hair cut and it`s turned out horribly.(or is it horrible?) The woman was a b*@#h to say what she did. I think some hairdressers don't like to admit when they have totally messed your hair up. Just remember, your hair will grow and this moment in time will end. I have always gone to First Choice Haircutters which alot of people don't like but I found one woman who knows all about curly hair. Do you have any nice hats? ;)Later

Share Your Thoughts

