Breakdown in the Bathroom

After a night of practically no sleep due to Hubby’s chainsaw (snoring) in the bed beside me, I somehow managed to drag myself out of bed when the alarm went off at 5:00 and staggered up the stairs in the dark to Ceilidh’s room, woke her up and told her to go and have her shower.
By the time I made it back down the stairs, the water was already running for the shower, a new precedent because usually I have to yell up to her about 10 after and tell her to get a move on.  I smiled to myself, hoping that this was a good sign for how my morning was going to go.
I puttered along in the kitchen, packing up lunches and getting things ready for the big rush at 6:00, when the boys got up and things start to really get popping.  So I wasn’t really paying attention to Ceilidh, which is a mistake because that girl has no concept of time, no concept of getting things done and basically no concept of how not to piss her Mom off.  Normally I’m right on top of that girl, pushing her through each stage of getting ready in the morning, because if I’m not, she falters and fails.  But today I thought that it would be ok, because she was on top her game.
Big mistake.
At 6:00 I turn on the kitchen tap and try to get some hot water to wash something off, but I run that water for a couple of minutes and it’s still cold water.   Then it slowly dawns on me, the water is still running upstairs.  I run up and bang on the door and I can hear her, scrambling around in the bathroom, in a panic.  I tell her to unlock the door, and she says “Hold on a sec.” and I can hear her jumping into the shower.
She opens the door, her hair is only half wet and not all the way to the roots and I glower at her.  I’m furious at the deception.  I accuse her of sitting in that bathroom, with the water running, pretending to be showering, while in fact she was probably sitting on the toilet, dozing off or something.
“No, I was in the shower.” She claims.  After I browbeat her a bit she finally comes clean and admits to what I already suspected knew.
I’m furious at her for the deception, I’m furious for the lies that she attempted to tell me to cover up her deception.  I’ve always told my kids that one of the few behaviours that I will never accept or forgive them for is lying to me.  I’ve always told them that they should just tell me the truth, I’ll still punish them for the things they’ve done wrong, but if I catch them in a lie, it’ll go a hundred times harder on them.
They used to be good.  They never used to lie.  Then suddenly they became teens and it seems that any shred of respect they had for me went out the door and got left on the trash pile.
Tonight, when Ceilidh gets home from school I will be having a sit down with her where we can discuss the why’s and what for of this behaviour.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in complaints, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

