Bit Better Knitting

I’ve been slowly teaching myself to knit for the past  couple of years and while I’ve knitted more rows than I can even put a number to, I am ashamed to say that I have never actually completed a piece.
Instead I just knit and knit and knit and then I unravel the whole damn thing because it’s not perfect and I don’t want to hold on to some awkward looking thing that in a few years I’ll look at and wonder what they hell I thought was so special about that lopsided scarf anyways?

But I did start to keep little sample swatches of my knitting.  My plan was to knit a whole slew of the things, all of them 5 inches by 5 inches and then I was going to sew them all together and make a sort of afghan out of them.
Problem? Yes, now that I’ve gotten about a years worth of practice in since I knitted the last ‘kept swatch’ I can now see just how much I’ve improved in my knitting talent, but the problem is that the perfectionist in me is now wondering what the heck I’m going to do with those earlier swatches, because I don’t really want to sew them beside the newer, much improved ones.
Don’t get me wrong, I am going to use them, and I love how this afghan is going to be an example of how my knitting skills got much better.  But I know that every time I look at the damn thing I’m going to see the flaws in some swatches and love some of the others.  Some I’ll just look at and think ‘you’re middle of the road, aren’t you?’ and there’s nothing wrong with that.  It’s just that it will sort of irk me.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

