Good News for a Change

I took Devlin to see a whole team of doctors yesterday, nutritionists, x-ray techs and feeding clinic therapists who performed what is called a video swallow on him.
Basically they sat him in front of an x-ray machine then fed him various foods with barrium in them and watched to see if he swallows the food and it goes into his stomach or lungs. It’s not an x-ray machine that takes still photos but is a video.
They were looking for a cause of his lung problems/conditions. They were worried that he may be aspirating on his foods/liquids.
I explained why I asked for this swallow study to be done, as well as why I’m concerned about my son’s size. He’s classified as ‘failure to thrive’ because at the age of 12 he only ways 15.5 kg and still wears size 6 in childrens clothes.
The doctor walked up to my son, examined him and showed me on his arm that he does have fat deposits so he’s not as bad off as I thought he was.  The only thing that went through my head when he said that was “whew”!
The swallow study showed that he’s not in danger of aspiration as the food/drink goes into his tummy and not his airways.  I heaved a great big sigh of relief.
They do think he might need a feeding tube put in so that we can give him proper amounts of liquids since Dev refuses to drink anything other than milk and it’s caused calcification to form in his kidneys.
He also needs 10,000 calories a day and it takes me about 2 hours to feed him a simple meal now, adding that many more calories a day, well I’d never do anything else but feed him. So a feeding tube, or g tube could be inserted so that we could just pump the extra foods/liquids right into his tummy and make it easier for him and us.
They also said that it looks like he’s working so hard to get his muscles to work properly when he’s eating that he’s burning off most of the calories he’s taking in. (wish I was so lucky) so the g tube would help with that as well.
I know it doesn’t sound like it, with the g tube and possible surgery and all, but really this is a positive thing. Especially the fat deposits. That made me so happy to hear. I always worry that he’s so skinny that someday a doctor will report me for neglecting him and starving him, even though I spend most of my day feeding him. It’s a load off my mind.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in family, Kids and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

