Happy Birthday Queen Vickie

Another long weekend has come and gone and I’m fairly disappointed that unlike other Victoria Day Long Weekends this one shall not end with a bang (fireworks) since Ontario Place has elected to actually set any of this year, which would make Skye the Hairbeast happy (due to her absolute terror of any and all things that go bang and look sparkly in the night time sky) except for the fact that everyone and his brother/sister/mother will be setting off backyard fireworks which make her freak as much as the Ontario Place ones.  I know, because all weekend long those backyard fireworks have been getting set off and she’s been pacing, panting and attempting to squeeze herself into the tiniest, most strange places.  Poor Puppy!
Of course her stress isn’t helped at all by the fact that while she’s pacing and freaking Mal the Wonderpup thinks she’s presenting as the most playful and active of dogs alive and he’s chasing her around, pawing at her and even stepping on her on those rare occasions that she’s lay herself down some where, albeit temporarily.
Luckily all of this will be over as of tonight and she’ll be able to lay back and relax, at least until July 1st when we’ll all be celebrating Canada Day with another display of sparkly fireworks accompanied by thunderous bangs that’ll send my dog into pre-heart attack mode once more.

So now that you’ve read about how my 4-legged friends have celebrated this weekend, I’ll fill you in on how us 2-legged creatures have been doing this past weekend.  We went and saw Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides and I have to say that I had the beginnings of a migraine during the movie so that may have tainted my opinion of the film but I felt that it was just trying a bit hard.  I’ll think about it some more and post another entry about it, if one is interested.

We went to Cumbrae’s store yesterday (Sunday) and my Mom bought 12 pounds of ground beef, while Hubby and I purchased chicken burgers and sirloin burgers and I have to say that they were super yummy.  I love their chicken burgers, and I don’t get them half as often as I would love to just because they take a large chunk of change from our pocket but every now and then you just have to treat yourself, right?
Warren dropped by just as we were starting the BBQ up to cook our burgers, which let me tell you was a very funny comedy of errors.  Hubby ran out of gas and had to switch tanks.  Lucky for us we had a back up tank and were able to swap the tanks in a matter of seconds.  But that led to another problem of the BBQ not actually heating up.  The darn thing wasn’t really producing any flame.  I’d just cleaned  the sucker up and had laid some aluminium foil on the bottom so to make the next clean up easier for me and Hubby thought that perhaps my shiny addition to the BBQ was screwing up the flame production so it was ripped out and balled up, and yet still no flames.
I asked Hubby if the tank was turned on enough, perhaps the valve was only open a crack, allowing only a tiny amount of gas to pass at a time.  But no, he happily and a tad bit on the gloating side informed me that the valve was open all the way and that I didn’t seem to have much of a clue as to what was wrong.
After about half an hour of trying to figure out why the chicken burgers weren’t getting any flame on them my Mom asked a simple question, was the hose attached all the way to the BBQ.  Seems once she had the same problem and it turned out to be the hose wasn’t attached all the way.
Hubby figured it couldn’t hurt, so after giving me a bit more grief and attitude about the whole thing he reattached the hose and *bawoosh* suddenly the BBQ was in full flame and threatening to engulf my beloved and oh so yummy burgers.
Sadly we hadn’t planned for Warren to be here for dinner so we hadn’t purchased enough burgers, chicken or beef, to share with him.  So me being the super wonderful hostess that I am I gave him my beef burger and only ate the chicken burger, which was fine with me because I love my chicken burger but I can take or leave a hamburger.    So I got to look like a self-sacrificing wonderful hostess and not actually have to give anything up that I really wanted.  Win win in my books!

Today (Monday) we’ve had intermiten sunshine and rain.  I’d love to have just sat outside all day and hang with Dev and enjoy the sun, but every time I think I should take Dev out the weather would turn and I’d decide to keep hin inside where it’s dry and then the rain and clouds would blow over and I’d be back to debating if I should take him out.  Sadly all this bad weather today has also put me into a ‘weather headache’ spin.  When air pressure changes rapidly I get head aches, so I decided to take it easy, fight off the headaches and watch Rio and Grey’s Anatomy.
Hubby had to go to work so we didn’t do much else.  But my Mom is making super yummy spaghetti, I’m not kidding, she had me taste the sauce and I thought to myself ‘who needs pasta, this sauce is good enough to eat on it’s own.’ and I’m really looking forward to dinner tonight.  The only thing that would make it better would be some grilled garlic bread, sadly I don’t have any bread to grill up and all the stores are closed because of a Dead Lady Monarch’s birthday.

Happy 192nd Birthday to her Majesty Victoria, by the Grace of God, of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland Queen, Defender of the Faith, Empress of India

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in cooking, family, holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

