Doggy Paddle At the Least

Ok, so it’s been over 2 weeks since I got that elliptical machine and I’d love to say that I’ve been on that sucker every single day, working and sweating and hopefully losing some of the weight that I built up over the years.  Sadly I can’t make that claim because somehow Satan lost control of the weather in Hades and it managed to escape and make its way here, to Toronto.

All last week I sat and looked at that blue piece of exercise equipment and thought to myself “Are you using this massive heat wave as an excuse to get out of working out, or would you truly be insane to try to work out right now?” and my answer came back, “If you workout in this heat, you’ll either die or pass out and you’ll definitely be listed as one of the Crazies!” so I did my best to eat right, avoid exerting myself too hard, since I don’t have AC in the house and once the mercury in the thermometer dropped to a comfortable level I worked myself back onto that darn machine.

But something even better has happened to me in the way of the ‘Get Up Off of Your Ass and Get Moving’ Department and that is the fact that this week I’ve been heading to the local swimming pool.  Sure I’ve been lugging the kids with me and I haven’t been able to swim laps like I’d wish, but I’ve discovered that I still have a pretty strong stroke and that if I did start to swim laps the way that I wished, I’d most likely have a coronary in the middle of the pool, or something like it.
I’ve still got the skill, but my heart isn’t up to it, yet.  That being said, I’m going to go and swim at a pace that won’t kill me and I know that I’ll eventually work up to the rapid lap swimming pace that I want to be at and that I still have the skill to accomplish.

As a small child I was a member of the local swimming club, which meant that on an almost daily basis I was at that pool, swimming laps for 2 hours every day.  My strokes were worked on, critiqued and I was made to correct them until I was as good a swimmer as any fish in the ocean.  On top of that I went to every single public swim and dragged my Mom and Dad to as many Family Swims as I could manage.  I took swimming lessons during the summer months, so on the whole, in the summer I think I spent about 5 or 6 hours in the pool every day.  It’s no wonder I had a killer front crawl!

So now I’m back in the water, and it feels so good.  Today I burned off about 600 calories in just 60 minutes.  The resistance of the water is going to make my muscles tone up at an awesome pace and on the whole, I’ll love it.

And the best part is that I’ve managed to drag my husband along with me and he’s getting into the ‘swim of things’ as well.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in fitness, health. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

