Instincts

Last night, Ladies and Gentlemen, as I was going through my nightly bedtime routine with Dev, I could tell something was not quite up to snuff with my Little Man. So Mom made the executive decision to keep Little Man home today.
There was no more than obvious warning signs of eminent danger, not quite anything I could lay my finger on, there was just something that my Mom senses picked up on.
Maybe it was the way he may limp in my arms, cuddling up with me instead of flailing and fidgeting. Maybe it was his eyes and their glassiness when he looked into mine.
Whatever the reason, I made the calls, I cancelled his bus, I called the school to let them know he wouldn’t be coming in.
Dev went to bed and this morning he got up out of bed and he was squirmy and wriggly and quite his normal self. My Mom instincts were in doubt as I second guessed my decision to keep Dec home. I started thinking of all the stuff that I will not be able to get done today because Little Man is home.
And then, while I was holding him in my arms after having given him his drink I was suddenly bathed in liquid.
“Did you just pee-per on Mommy?” I asked him and he answered with a funny little smile.
Sean was home and while I ran down stairs to change out of my dirty jammies, Sean was changing Dev.
“MOM!” He called in a panicked tone.
Turns out it wasn’t urine that I’d been drenched in, but diarrhea. Gross!
He’s had a few more mm nasty diapers since, but that first blast was the worst.
In other news, I once again have full confidence in my Mommy Super Powers.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in family, health, Kids and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Instincts

  1. l'empress says:

    No one knows that child better than you. For many of us, we had other caregivers who might have noted some kind of change, but Dev has always been your responsibility. Don’t ever doubt your Mommy sense.

  2. Thanks l’empress. I’ll try to remember not to doubt my Mommy sense again, but lets be honest. It’ll happen again and again. It’s just the nature of the beast, self doubt. I think if I’m to sure of myself then I”m not going to challenge and change myself for the better. Questioning myself, my skills and my instincts keeps me on my toes.

Share Your Thoughts

