No NaNoWriMo Winner Here…. Or Is There?

After taking a few years off, I decided once again to attempt to participate in NaNoWriMo, and I am not happy to report that I have yet again, failed to finish.
I did manage to have the highest output ever, or at least that I can recall.  29387 so far.
That’s how many words I managed to write.  That’s how many thoughts I managed to type out.
I might not get a nice shiny ”Winner” badge, but I did participate and I did manage my personal best score, so I sort of feel like a winner.

November is a bad month for me to try this, with Devlin’s birthday party to plan and attend, Christmas shopping to plan and start,  and parent teacher interviews and my multitude of other parental duties that I need to attend to, well NaNoWriMo is something that I truly have come to believe is just not in my grasp of completing.
Perhaps if it happened in February I may have had a better chance at it.  There are no large obligations to be seen to in February.  We don’t celebrate Valentines Day because the idea that we can take our significant other for granted 364 days of the year as long as we give them a gift to shut them up on Valentines Day pisses me off.  Show me you love me every day.  I don’t need some commercial holiday to remind you to tell me you love me.

But I am losing my train of thought.  I did NaNoWriMo.  I didn’t win by writing 50,000 words in 30 days.  I wrote almost 30,000 words in 30 days and that’s pretty damn good to me.

Note: if I ever attempt to do this again, kick me in the head and remind me that I have other things to do.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in commentary, Me, misc. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

