Special Needs Reports are as Useless as a Brush for a Bald Man

I just received my son’s report card through the mail. It’s one of those stupid reports that are being filed with the board of education because of the striking actions of the elementary teachers of Ontario.

This report is a total waste of the paper it is printed on. I’m sure that all the parents that are getting a multiple choice form letter from their child’s principal are frustrated.

For me, the parent of a special needs child, this is the most useless thing in existence.  Box 1 says that he met the alternative standards of his IEP (Individual Education Plan” and will transition to the next grade. This is the box that my son had marked off.
The other boxes say the same about IEP’s and alternative curriculum, the only difference between the 3 boxes are if he met some of the curriculum expectations or didn’t meet them. All three say he will be transitioned to the next grade.

So what is the point? I knew that he would be transitioned. This form doesn’t actually tell me a damn thing. In all of my son’s report cards, the only thing that really matters are the teacher comments. Did he hold his head up with difficulty or ease while engaging in classroom activities. Did you use one or two arms while performing tasks. Did he wait patiently for his turn, or did he scream his head off while other children were doing activities?
These are some of the things I need to know, so that I can assist the teacher on working on them during the summer, so that when he goes back to school in September he won’t back track and the teacher will have to start all over reminding him to do these behaviours.

I’m sure there are parents of children with special needs that are feeling the same level of frustration and betrayal that I am. I mean, the Toronto District Teachers were not striking, they were not in an actual work action, so why exactly am I and my son getting this crap in the mail that doesn’t actually tell me a thing about his ability.
It’s one thing to tell a parent ‘your kid passed math, reading, writing, gym, art, etc’ but to tell a parent whose child’s education is made up of more less tangible features nothing about how he actually accomplished his daily activities, it’s just insulting. Your kid is not typical and therefore our way of handing out report card doesn’t actually apply to him, we were useless to him. Sorry.

It was a monumental waste of paper and a stamp.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in family, Kids, school, Special Needs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Special Needs Reports are as Useless as a Brush for a Bald Man

  1. Pheonix says:

    I’m so sorry, that’s awful. I was given more feedback than that on my report cards in school. I can’t imagine no comments at all. Can you call an IEP meeting to request additional feedback be delivered?

    • Most reports in Ontario are being sent like this, just for this one report card though. It’s a strike/work action thing with the union. The part that’s really frustrating is that the school board for my son isn’t on a strike/work action. It’s the boards all around us, but not ours. It’s like they are doing this just because they can get away with it.

      • Pheonix says:

        They probably are. The only way I can think of to call them out on it is through the IEP though. Otherwise I don’t know that there’s anything else you can do except call and complain. Maybe a teacher meeting? Sorry about the unsolicited advice, I just hate to see you not know what’s going on with your kid and find out in a few months he’s regressed in some areas.

  2. Pheonix says:

    I don’t know if you participate in them, but I nominated you for a blog award! If you’re interested, the details are at http://strugglingtothrive.com/2015/07/15/my-first-blog-award/. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog and you’ve been very supportive.

Share Your Thoughts

