Things You Convince Yourself in the Middle of the Night

I woke up last night, about an hour after I fell asleep, and realized I had a small, yet nagging headache.
I toyed with the idea for a moment, of going to the kitchen and getting myself a glass of water and taking some Tylenol to fight off that stupid little, almost non-existant headache.
But that would have involved going up and down the stairs, turning on lights, fumbling with the faucet, and I convinced myself that none of that was necessary, because it was a long time before sunrise and just a little rest was all that was needed to remove said tiny throbbing from my brain.
I was wrong. When I woke up this morning that first blast of sunrise shot through my head like a bullet when I opened my eyes and then quickly shut them again.
“Ow” was the only thought I had, before I began mentally chastising myself for being lazy and not scaling those stairs to take the pain reliever that I so badly needed to have a happy morning.
So here I sit, head pounding like some idiot is using a jack hammer to split my skill in two, a cup of tea in hand, Tylenol in my gullet, waiting for the effects of that acetaminophen to kick in.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in Me and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Things You Convince Yourself in the Middle of the Night

  1. Pheonix says:

    Oh man, the number of times I’ve done this to myself…

    “No really, you can sleep in and still make it to work on time.”
    “Drinking something caffeinated in the middle of the night won’t keep you from going back to sleep, honest!”
    “It’s a good idea to eat pizza, even though it’s 2am and you’re going right back to bed. Reflux? What Reflux?”

    It’s like my subconscious messes with me for its own amusement. 😦

Share Your Thoughts

