Flushing Kids

I woke up this morning to the sound of a deluge falling from the sky. Off and on all morning it’s been raining, making this a genuine Miserable Monday Morning.

I did not want to get up out of bed this morning, not after a night of tossing and turning for hours before my brain finally shut the hell down and allowed me to pass out. I’m not certain what time that actually happened, but I do remember looking at the clock and seeing it was after 1:30 am and wishing that I was asleep already.
I tell you this because to allow you to understand that when my alarm went off at 5:30, opening my eyes and crawling out from under my fluffy, warm blanket was the last thing I wanted to do.
But I had set myself up for a Monday morning, washing bibs, packing up everything that could be done before I went to bed, all because I wanted to have a smooth morning. Monday’s suck, and when you’re tired and grumpy and the rain is falling, it sucks that much more.

Somehow I managed to float through the morning routine. Dev was gotten out of bed by my daughter, and I took care of his morning chest congestion and stuffy nose. I wont give any further details because it’s bad enough I had to go through that once, I don’t really cherish the idea of reliving it all for you, and I’m sure you are grateful for that.
Dev got his drink, Carnation Breakfast Anytime, chocolate flavoured of course. Dev got frustrated because he had a hard time coordinating drinking and breathing because of his congested nose, but he got it all down, with a few screams and kicks tossed in. My shins will show bruises later, I’m sure.

So, I get Dev all dressed. I hook up his g-tube MIC-key button and pump his formula into his belly. Most Moms are busy arguing with their kids at this point about eating their breakfast, but all I have to do is make certain that he gets his formula and he’s happy.
I used to try to get him to eat a bit of food along with his feed, but I honestly just got tired of throwing it all out after a frustrating morning of trying to get him to open up and eat it.

So everything was flowing along, much better than I could have hoped. Dev had a cold, a stuffy nose and some issues because of that, but he’s all smiles and being far more cheerful than I can handle at those ungodly hours on a Monday.
I’ve got him all packed up and ready to go, when my eyes suddenly fall on the glass of water that I use to flush Devlin’s tube after I’m done giving him his feed, and I realize that there is something drastically wrong with what I’m seeing.
That cup is full. Not one drop has been sucked out in the 60 ml syringe that I use to flush Dev. That cup should be empty, or pretty darn close to empty and yet it’s sitting right there. I look at Devlin, and he’s looking at me and the look on his face is ‘Yeah Mom. You screwed up for sure on this one!’

Oops! I totally forgot to flush my kid. Those are words that will never float through the brain of almost all of the Mom’s out there, but any parent of a Tubie will understand that not flushing your kid after giving them their feed can lead to a blockage, and an inability to properly nourish your kid. And for what? A moments lapse in memory? So not worth it!

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in family, Kids, Special Needs and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

