Great Start to a New Year

There is nothing better to ring in a new year than sitting around and having a good time and you take a moment to visit the lavatory, and you sit your butt down and everything is going along smoothly and then suddenly you get a pain in your back that feels like you’ve just been stabbed. It’s a familiar pain, it’s one that you’ve felt before. Pain in your kidney.
Add to that pain the familiar difficulty in urination which has suddenly just manifested, and you are left with the knowledge that you are in the midst of a problem, a problem that is a big one but you aren’t quite certain of what it exactly is, but you sure know the ballpark it’s coming from.
October 2014, I was hospitalized for a combination UTI (Urinary Tract Infection) and kidney stones that morpshed into another bout of Sepsis. It quite honestly was hell, and not something that I would wish on any living creature in existence.
So, I passed the stone and was discharged from the hospital with a diagnosis that I had very large stones and that these needed to be tended to.  But my son had just been discharged from Sick Kids hospital after having such a bad problem with his breathing that he actually turned blue. So, if you haven’t figured it about me yet, I am the type of Mom who will push aside my needs to focus on my family’s needs and that’s what I did. To the point that I actually pretty much forgot about this stupid kidney stone problem of mine.
Just the other day, when my brother asked me how my 2015 was I stopped for a second and thought about it and said “No hospitalizations, so pretty good” and then I suddenly remembered that I was supposed to see the doctor and discuss what can be done for my poor kidneys. That was on Friday.
On Saturday my kidney decided to speak up and get involved in the conversation and remind me that I shouldn’t neglect myself.

So, I called my doctor yesterday and made an appointment, my mind made up that I will not be an idiot about this anymore. I don’t want to get worse, this problem needs to be dealt with.
And I sit down in the office with the doctor and he opens up both barrels and blasts me with a pretty good lecture, basically his message is that I’m stupid.  He started to ask me about the risks these stones are posing for me, and I knew all the answers. These stones are putting me at risk of greater infections because I’m a lifetime UTI sufferer and these stones can make the infection spread throughout my body. If left in my kidneys, not treated they can damage my kidneys. I can put myself at risk for sepsis, for kidney disease and finally kidney failure.
He sat there, so upset with me for ignoring this. Almost angry because I knew all the risks. Common sense told me that these were the obvious complications, but my mind had packed it away and kept me concentrating on the bigger box of Devlin’s difficulties. I focus so much on him, and forget about myself. I worry about my husband and my kids issues and forget about my own. It’s not smart, but that’s how I work.
But the doctor I had yesterday was determined to teach me a lesson, and he succeeded.

So now I’m on antibiotics for the infection, I’ve had x-rays done and they took enough blood that it would kill a cow.  I’m on ‘complication watch‘, he gave me a list of things to watch for and if even one thing happens, or if there are any changes for the worse I’m on orders to either see him again immediately or go to the ER. It’s serious. I get it.
And I admit it, I am an idiot!!

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in health, Me and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

