From Bad to Worse

Yesterday was not a good day, not for me studying anyway.
I woke up with some not very fun or pretty health issues yesterday and as I result I wasn’t able to be there when my daughter took my son out to his bus. Which resulted in her not actually finishing packing him up for school, which meant that his feeding tube pump and supplies, along with his lunch, snacks and drinks did not go to school with him.
So close to 9:00am I got a phone call from the nurse, upset that his medications, food and pump were all missing. There I am, sick and unable to do a thing about it. I felt like the worlds worst Mom.

A few hours later the nurse starts to rapid dial me, and I’m thinking ‘crap, it’s lunch time and they are calling to tell me how miserable my son is, sitting there with his empty tummy, watching everyone else eat.’ but no. Seems the button for his feeding tube broke and the nurse wanted me to come and pick him up right away.
I asked if the button had come out. No, just a piece broke off. So my next question was, is that causing any issues. Answer, no. They taped it up and it seems fine. Ok, so he’ll come home at his normal time. If everything is going well, there is no reason for his Dad to leave work early and pick him up.
The husband comes home when his shift ends and we run down to the hospital and buy a new button and supplies (almost $300 later, money we had not budgeted spending) and when we get home I discover that my son is in fact soaked with stomach acid and contents.
Seems the piece falling out made it so that the button was wide open and leaking everywhere. My poor boy. It smelt, and it was gross. Sort of like vomiting on yourself and then sitting in it. (Yes, I wrote an angry letter to the school as well as put a call in to the principal this morning, that is not only gross but so unacceptable), remember how the nurse assured me that he was fine, just missing a piece of the button. Liar!!

So, me being sick and all this other crap going on, is it any wonder that I did not do any ‘work’ yesterday on my art?
I think not!

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in complaints, Devlin, family, school, Special Needs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

