Inspiration to Improve

I’ve been drawing eyes, practicing all different techniques and styles.
But the weather has turned from the hot, sunny days of summer to the blustery, chill of autumn and my spirit suddenly wants to create something that reflects the season that we are in. Gold and Reds of autumn leaves in the trees, cascading down to the ground inspire more than just that feeling of appreciation for the beauty that I see before me.
The season is leading in to Halloween, a time of witches, Sabbats, Samhain and the dead interacting with the living. This is pushing me towards creating something that reflects the season that we are moving ever closer to.

The problem? Skill. I’ve painted a total of 1 painting, and there is so much that I hate about it. I lack the skill to bring into creation the images that dance about in my head, and it frustrates me. So, in order to do some justice to the scenes I wish to create, I find I must put my eyes away and to practicing scars, decaying flesh, fires and beautiful fall foliage.

I’m realistic about my skills and what I can create. I know that by this time next year I’ll have a better chance of bringing to life the visions in my head, but I can’t just sit back and ignore these creative urges, this call of inspiration to create.

Will my work be good, most likely not. Those out there, those with more skill, will pick apart my work and find the flaws, bring them to the light of day. I’ll be challenged by those that see my vision as limited and accused of not having an ‘artistic voice’ because my images are not stylized or conforming to a look that is specific to me. I know that my beginning work is erratic, that I don’t follow a specific theme. My art is inspired by what I see, what I feel. I can’t do better than that. I may paint or draw for a hundred years and not find a conformity to link my work, and that’s fine with me. Actually I hope that is the truth. For I don’t wish to be pigeon-holed into a specific style or technique, I want to grow. I want to learn. Those that have criticisms are welcome if they are constructive. I’m the kind that shoves my work into the faces of others, not demanding to be complimented or told how talented I am (not that I think I’m talented), but I am demanding that they advise me on my mistakes, how to make my work better. ‘Tell me what’s wrong with this!” is what I say, not ‘How does this look”. Show me the flaws, help me to grow, help me to learn. Help me to become better.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in art, commentary and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

