Crazy Few Months

Around February 20th, at some point on the Family Day Longweekend, a good friend of mine walked into a pet store that had a grooming service offered but no groomer to provide the service and my friend just mentioned that he knew someone who might be able to come in and work for them, and that was how it all began.
He gave me the number for the store and within a week I was underway to working for that store. For the entire month of March I groomed what was not even a handful of dogs, and it quickly became obvious to me why this store was not able to keep a groomer working for them. I don’t want to get into it, I’ll just say that support from management was non0existant, the grooming space doubled as storage and needed to be cleaned out every time I had to work, and there was only one sink in the entire store so it was being used as a slop sink and that was always filthy and had to be scrubbed before I could work. A lot of effort for very little pay off.

The one amazing thing that came from this entire venture at that store was the one of the clients that came in with a beautiful golden retriever liked me so much that she offered to allow me to purchase the salon that her sister had spent 27 years building.  Due to health reasons her sister wasn’t able to keep the salon running and it was sitting there, not earning any money. Clients waiting to see if it would open again, and the loss of income and the continuing monthly expenses that had to be paid, they just wanted to find someone who could take over the salon and maintain the quality and feel of the salon.

So, April was a whirl of activity. Checking out the location, negotiating the price and then getting all the finances in order.
Our first attempt at getting

Now I can say that as of May 1st the salon will be mine. I’m feeling so excited because not only will this be my business and income but my daughter had just decided that she wanted to get into dog grooming as well, so this would be her future as well.

So, now that the salon is ours we have to work hard to keep the existing clientele happy and keep them coming to the salon as before, but we also need to generate new clientele. A lot of foot work, and selling the ‘brand’ of the salon. I’m really excited but I’m also nervous and perhaps even a little afraid. It’s a big undertaking, and it’s resting all on me right now.

Fingers crossed. Wish me luck.

About katastrophes1

Kat is a 20 something girl stuck in a 40 something body. Mom to 3 kids, tormented and amused by 3 crazy dogs. Amateur photographer, self taught crochet junkie. Thinker of crazy thoughts. Where do they come from? Who knows where thoughts occur, they just happen!
This entry was posted in commentary, on my mind, work and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

